My Body, My Rules…

Act 2 – Part 9

 

He was slick with sweat and had bit his tongue, yet Hera supported his head as she helped the lad sip at the herb laced tea.

“Steady, don’t try to stand too soon.” She helped him to sit up slowly. Seizon-sha coughed and shuddered, blood ran freely from his chin, he tried to talk. Yet his words were lost in a groggy mumble, disorientated and exhausted.

Kane paced like a caged wolf along the tree line, anxious yet hesitant to approach, Hera had warned him back allowing his son to go through the trial unhindered. He hadn’t slept, hadn’t moved… Haunted by memories of his own experience.

Vixen caught his arm, turning him about to face her. His constant stress was grating on her nerves…

“I cant do this, Kane. I can not come on this quest with you, but neither am I going to neglect you.”

“I don’t understand?” He shook his head… Still rather distracted…

“I’m a whore Kane, I’m not a soldier, not an adventurer. I’ve never hidden who I am from you and you’ve never demanded I change.” She lightly touched his face. “This journey, to find the Princess, that is for you and your son.”

He glanced back to the clearing then, to where Hera had Seizon-Sha seated in the long grass supping her infamous healing tea.

“If I accompany you, I’ll only be a distraction for you and the guards, I’m too fond of you to cause issues, so I’m going to return to the city, I know I can get into the Palace grounds because I know the girls that work there, I might as well use my position, my body, my abilities to try and find Kireina, where ever she is being held. She is like a daughter to me and you need to focus on one thing at once. Constantly fretting over both your children will keep you distracted and only get you killed.” She planted a soft kiss on his lips.

Kane sighed heavily, her words slowly sinking in, making sense. He wrapped his arms around her, drawing her closer and resting his forehead against her shoulder. “Why are you always so dreadfully sensible?” He spoke into her curls…

“Never underestimate the wisdom of a whore with curves.” She laughed softly then stepped away from his embrace. “Just don’t get yourself killed.” Vixen turned to leave. “Come back to me Kane!”

 

Anne Harrison 22.06.17

Leave a Reply

