The Hero’s Journey

… What Structure? *Scratches Head*

Twas no fib when I wrote … ‘anticipation gripped those who witnessed the arrival of this force and even your humble narrator isn’t sure what she’s going to write next…’ at the end of Part 47, I don’t exactly know what I am going to write in Part 48 yet, I have about a dozen ideas, my thoughts regarding this ‘Notsoshortshortstory’ actually branches off 14 years into the future, but obviously that wont be in the next part and not all my ideas get scribbled down, typed up, remembered or develop beyond a dream. Basically I have No structure.

Now, I read a lot about the art of writing, I subscribe to various Blogs and Websites, The Wonderbook is a constant companion and I have drank up every word in On Writing and I’m utterly fascinated by The Story Seminar . One thing which pops up time and time again is ‘The Hero’s Journey’ which has been written about countless times, with various experts putting their personal twist upon this theme. It can be complicated, broken down into diddy fractions or simply Three Acts.

We covered it in class upon the creative writing course:

IMG-20140122-00030IMG-20140122-00031

Many stories, many films, follow this journey of discovery for our (initially) unwilling Hero and his friends/foe. It is a tale that has followed us (mankind) throughout our history, from ancient Myths and Legends right through to Harry Potter. The Hero’s Journey is Mankind’s Journey, it may echo our own trials and tribulations through life, sometimes.

It is a concept which fascinates me as I (personally) can also relate this to The Fool’s Journey, which is the progress of the Fool through the Major Arcana in Tarot Cards.

8181174ad4c0d619018dc5a478066787

The Fool is The Hero, Look at all these beautiful characters he meets upon his travels through the Major Arcana! How many character archetypes are hidden (in plain sight) in the Tarot? The Wise Man… Merlin, Gandalf, Dumbledore, Ben Kenobi … The Hermit.

We have our Kings and Queens, Magicians, Love, Death, Judgement, Strength… All the glorious concepts we also find in The Hero’s Journey… But my rumbling thoughts have taken a bizarre twist of their own and this is no longer what I wanted to write about when I started this blog, however, that’s just the way my mind works and I’ve got lost trying to follow the tangled threads of a messy thoughts. Instead I’ve given you something else to ponder over. I don’t expect I am the first person to relate these two concepts? I don’t know how I got onto the subject of the Tarot when I actually wanted to reflect upon the ‘Hero’ theme, but it fits, so I will just leave that there and slink back into my cave and rethink over what it is I wanted to write about…

 

Anne Harrison 14.03.17

 

Leave a Reply

