A Tempory Closure

This will be my last Blog about Japan, even though my desire to continue in fine detail still remains, along with my lingering desire to return to Tokyo. I need to reestablish the purpose of this Blog, which was to explore my journey through Creative Writing. The adventure in Japan has been an emotional rollercoaster, it has inspired my words, my thoughts, tastes, passions and ambition. But I can not remain lingering over 10 days of my life, I have been back in the UK a month now and in a few short weeks my next trip launches me into another world to explore. This too will be explored through my words and humble photos, but not yet…

In February I rather foolishly enrolled myself on, yet another, creative writing course. This one through correspondence work. It is May and so far I have failed to write a word, so engaged I have been in my travels. So my sweet readers, this must be my last Japan post.

I have never fallen in love with a place so utterly in my life and can think of only two exceptions… Where I live currently and Aberglaslyn Hall in Snowdonia.

Japan is unlike anywhere I have ever visited, yet at the same time, places reminded me of London, Birmingham, Nottingham… Alike, yet never the same! History and culture are both firmly affixed within a society which embraces technology as eagerly as a teenager with a selfie stick. The nation has pride, respect and honour. As well as superstition, religion and ritual.

I have many personal highlights… Witnessing a Geisha in Kyoto … The astonishing costumes and make up of musicians handing out flyers and free CD’s outside the hotel in Tokyo … Godzilla looming above buildings … Anime Japan … Ghibili Museum … Sinking into a Onsen by myself … Trying (but not always liking) new foods … The Trains … Walking until my feet hurt then walking some more … Cherry Blossoms … The city skyline … and so much more …

Sights and smells which will linger with me always! That is until my next return. I ache to go back to Tokyo, but I have to remind myself that I am exceptionally lucky to live where I live, to be able to do as much as I do. For that I am always grateful and thankful for each new day. I am fortunate to have travelled so far, alone, explored so widely, with new friends and having the freedom to express myself here. It is nice to have my invisible audience to keep me company… I know I have gone off topic, but it is all writing at the end of the day.

 

Thank you for letting me share all of this with you …

 

Anne Harrison 02.05.16

Leave a Reply

