#NotInMyName

Recent events have inspired the use of the #NotInMyName.

Indeed I have noticed a staggering amount of negative posts through various social media platforms. It is impossible to ignore the hatred in the world when the media fixates on doom and gloom until we become a nation of fear living in melancholy.  But there is enough self opinionated bloggers out there, sofa dwelling political experts who rant on the internet and point fingers…

I am not writing to express my opinion, I am not sharing my views because I do not feel the need too.

Yesterday I wrote that I felt like shit. Yesterday I wrote that someone had upset me, by the end of the day, two people had upset me and I felt wretched. Uninspired, gloomy my fragile motivation had fled, frightened away by physical pain and venomous words.

However as today has developed, the sun has chased away the drizzle, pain has subsided and I found the most stunning link (again) which made me realise just how much beauty there is in the world, underneath all the news wrapped up in lies. I still feel a little insecure but the brief spell of negativity is lifting. A calm peace remains.

I am reminded of a piece of homework we were given in our first year, world building is an important part of fiction to create a believable story, even if the story is fantastical. In our assignment we were to write about the world as it is, yet remove just one element to explore the impact on society without this element. We were free to chose what we wanted to remove from the world, gravity, clothes, money… etc… How would life be different? I shall confess this story was a little inspired by Dogma.

Originally entitled ‘A World Without Me’, I could quite easily re-title this little tale #NotInMyName. Enjoy!

 

Anne Harrison. 11.12.15

***

A world without me.

I knew I had fucked up when the body count reached astronomical proportions. There were so many who had died pointlessly, so much death, torture, pain, hatred, destruction. That’s when I knew I had to start again, or do I?

Wouldn’t it be easier just to remove one fragment which caused so much distress and see how the world faired without such limitations?

So I created a mirror image of what already existed, it didn’t take as long as a week this time, as I already had the blueprint in my vault. I just made a simple subtle change in the programming then cut, copied and pasted the rest into a parallel dimension.

Content with my result, yet curious to see how this altered reality, I injected myself into society assuming a simple role in which to observe.

The first thing I noticed was the currency, as my first customer handed me a few dollars I noticed there was no longer a slogan adorned across the money in my name. Interesting, but hardly outstanding, these tiny bits of paper, which people put so much importance in, had always baffled me but I had choose to keep this feature. After all, I did require a wage for my job.

There was a television set in the main dining area, the news emblazoned images of war and destruction. I sighed to myself, mankind will always fight it would appear. Had I fucked up again? I pondered, yet the reported war was over territory, land, boarders, property. Not in my name!

Okay, so I wasn’t going to remove land! However, the wars were few and far between, the body count regrettable but minor in comparison.

It was on my lunch break, when I took a walk through the bustling streets of New York City when I started to notice more and more changes. For example, clothes and hair! Now this wouldn’t usually interest me, as I’ve always been a firm believer that people should wear what they like to be comfortable and confident in their appearance. However there were those, who in my name (whichever name they choose to call me by) had placed limitations upon self-expression, clothes, beards, long hair, short hair, ringlets, skull-caps, turbans, tattoos, nudity, burkas, hijabs, dog-collars, miters… The list was endless, what you could wear, what you couldn’t wear, what was banned, approved, encouraged. The contradictions were amusing yet sadly, even this minor personal choice had even lead to many deaths.

So to stroll through the busy streets and notice an absence of such garments was a welcome relief. People still followed fashion that was why I created creativity. People also expressed themselves against fashion in outrageous self-styled garments that was why I created creativity! I smiled, pleased with the diversity which existed without me.

As I unwrapped my bacon baguette I noticed a loving couple walking slowly through the park. Hand in hand they laughed and flirted, eyes shining towards each other. The tall young man in a sharp suit leaned close and placed a soft loving kiss upon his partner’s neatly trimmed beard. I smiled, my heart swelled with adoration. Love is such a beautiful sight to behold, it has no restrictions or limitations. I wonder why people had once developed predigests in my name? It appeared to me that mankind used me as an excuse to destroy each other for a multitude of reasons. Yet here, in this new realm, this perfect loving couple could walk freely, openly accepted, because I did not exist.

Absently wiping ketchup from my chin, I pondered over the humble bacon baguette I was enjoying. Diet had become another restriction I had noticed, did people really think I would judge them for their diet? Throughout time, I had been given many names, many forms, I had been male and female and neither. Faceless or even animal headed, I had devout followers, extreme to the point of self-suicide in my name, I had watched mankind destroy each other, to undermine women and oppress them under the excuse of an original sin.

Yet as I look around this new realm, I see women in suits alongside business men as their equals, not struggling, flourishing, I see stay-at-home dads collecting their children from a school where all races play and learn together, because these children are not brought up to judge another for being different. Indeed I notice a young girl in piggy tails dressed as an action-man and I smile to myself.

Opening a can of Coke to wash down my lunch I am painfully aware that governments and big corporations still have an impact and I absently wonder just how much I need to get rid of to make things perfect? How many versions of the world do I need to create? Would each one be vastly different with the removal of just one concept?

I look around this current reality and conclude that it doesn’t matter what I remove there will always be something which replaces it. However, taking myself out of the equation has developed a more peaceful world, with fewer wars and more acceptable diversity.

Naturally I expect to discover some negative issues with my absence, but there really is so much one can explore within an hour and my lunch break was fast drawing to a close and I needed to head back for my afternoon shift, I strolled and noticed the absence of Churches, Mosques, and Synagogues. I felt a little sadness as there was a loss there in such beauty. But it was a price I was prepared to pay currently to see how my children developed without the concept of soul or the fear of karma, an afterlife of Heaven or Hell? Remove all these fears, that I would judge and punish or reward your eternal soul dependent upon your actions, words or thoughts. Was in itself a former manmade myth, created to control and oppress others.

Here, I discovered, with the absence of understanding the soul, I found mankind to be far more creative, artistic and less destructive. I wondered why this would be as I replaced my apron and took up my position behind the counter.

It was not that people did not have Souls, of cause they had, their souls are the bright internal spark which connects them to me. They just had no name for it here, but the soul needed to shine and here it shone through freedom, expression art and love, sure the world will never be perfect, but neither am I.

I smiled content as I took my first order of the afternoon and asked; “Would you like fries with that?”

Church

PS: My Photography tooooooooooo…….. 🙂

Leave a Reply

