To Become Stronger – First I must Fall Apart

This is me, last week, a bad quality phone photo with pink hair.

In 2013 I had a TIA http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/Transient-ischaemic-attack/Pages/Introduction.aspx whilst operating a guillotine at work!! Don’t worry I will spare you the details, I wouldn’t want to bore you anyway… However, this resulted in me spending 10 days in hospital, most of this time I could not see from my left eye and had constant severe pain in my head. The whole experience left me feeling unhinged and it took me quite a while to come to terms with what had happened to me. I still don’t like admitting this fact as it feels like a weakness, I also still have some residual effects, such as difficulty in reading and a considerable amount of my childhood memories are lost in a black hole somewhere inside my head.

Somehow this whole experience encouraged me to attend University. I wanted to prove to myself that I could study, I could learn new skills and new information and even help me regain some lost memories. My love for words and writing were a source of self expression and loosing myself in literature, to actually force myself to read a book despite the words all running into one another, to research and focus, gave me new goals.

I understood early on in the course that I was not academically minded, but that was not going to stop me.

To become a stronger person, I had to fall apart first.

It’s 2015 now and for the first time, in a long time I feel as though I am living my life wholeheartedly, but it took a near miss to wake me up!

Anne Harrison 13.11.15

Leave a Reply

